Professional Risk Manager Designation

Built by a broad coalition of industry leaders and endorsed by leading university programs and industry firms, the PRM™ Designation is the leading risk manager credential, globally-recognized, graduate-level.


 PRM Program Enrollment

With an approved application, the path to the PRM Designation includes passing all required examinations within a two-year period. The entire enrollment period is 3 years, which allows for a study period prior to sitting for the exams.

Apply Now

Get the Guidebook

Already enrolled or submitted an application? Check your application status.


Candidate Qualifications

To become an eligible PRM Candidate, applicants must:

  • Hold a current PRMIA Sustaining OR RIM level membership; AND
  • have a completed graduate school degree (i.e., MBA, MSF, MQF, etc.); OR be a current CFA Charterholder (see Cross-over Qualifications for details)

Alternatively, if a master’s degree is not held:

  • A bachelor's degree with 2 years of full-time work experience in risk; OR
  • 4 years of full-time work experience in risk

Do You Qualify?

Select your experience level:

 Master's Degree

 Bachelor's Degree

 CFA CharterHolder

 None of these


Maintaining Certification

Once the PRM Designation is achieved, holders must meet the following maintenance requirements:

  • Hold a current PRMIA Sustaining OR RIM level membership, starting with the day you obtain your PRM designation
  • Complete 20 Continuing Risk Learning (CRL) credits each calendar year starting with the calendar year immediately after the PRM designation is achieved

Download the Guidebook to learn more about maintaining the PRM Designation.



2015 to 2019 Program Transition

The PRM Designation program is currently in a transition period from the 2015 Syllabus to the 2019 Syllabus. To aid current PRM Candidates enrolled in the 2015 PRM Program, additional details on the 2015 to 2019 transition period can be found on the PRM transition webpage.

PRMIA has published a cross-map of the 2019 PRM Syllabus with the 2015 PRM Syllabus topics to describe the relationship between the two programs' syllabus.

PRM candidates enrolled in the 2015 PRM Program who intend to complete their PRM requirements before 1 July 2020 should refer to the 2015 PRM webpages and 2015 PRM Candidate Guidebook for syllabus and exam details. 

Questions ?

Do you have a question or can't find what you are looking for?

Contact Us